Straat Picks: Album Releases In August 2013

Straat Picks: Album Releases In August 2013

Bloc Party, Travis, and A$AP Ferg are just some of our album release picks for August. Read more for the full line-up. 

By Haikal Abu Bakar

Bloc Party: The Nextwave Sessions
Scheduled Release: 13 August


[perfect_quotes id=”5447″]

Scroll to continue with content

Bloc Party may have announced that they will be taking an indefinite hiatus after their tour ends in July, but the UK art-punk veterans are giving their fans one last treat with the release of a new five-song EP. The Nextwave Sessions will feature tracks they’ve performed live on their recent tour. Bloc Party previously took an extended break between 2009’s Intimacy LP and last year’s comeback album, Four, amidst rumours that members of the band couldn’t stand one another.

1. Ratchet
2. Obscene
3. French Exit
4. Montreal
5. Children of The Future
6. X-Cutioner’s Song


John Mayer: Paradise Valley
Scheduled Release: 13 August


[perfect_quotes id=”5498″]

After battling two surgeries for a granuloma in his throat and being told that he may never sing again, John Mayer is set to return with his sixth studio album, Paradise Valley. Judging from his latest single, Wildfire (see lyric video below), fans can probably expect an album with heavy blues and folk influences, with signature John Mayer guitar tunes we’ve all grown so fond of.

1. Wildfire
2. Dear Marie
3. Waiting on the Day
4. Paper Doll
5. Who You Love
6. I Will Be Found (Lost at Sea)
7. Call Me The Breeze
8. Badge And Gun
9. You’re No One ‘Til Someone Lets You Down
10. Wildfire
11. On The Way Home


Travis: Where You Stand
Scheduled Release: 19 August


[perfect_quotes id=”5513″]

Seems Travis finally found a renewed sense of inspiration. The band will be releasing their seventh studio album after being out of the spotlight for five years. Whether the album would garner similar success as their 1999 album The Man Who (over 2.7 million copies sold) is anyone’s guess.

1. Mother
2. Moving
3. Reminder
4. Where You Stand
5. Warning Sign
6. Another Guy
7. A Different Room
8. New Shoes
9. On My Wall
10. Boxes
11. The Big Screen


A$AP Ferg: Trap Lord
Scheduled Release: 20 August


[perfect_quotes id=”5469″]

One of the less prominent members of the hip-hop collective A$AP Mob is scheduled to release his first studio album later this month. Besides an expected guest appearance from A$AP Rocky, the rapper has announced that the album will feature hip-hop legends Bone Thugs-N-Harmony and Onyx.

1. Let It Go
2. Shabba (ft. A$AP Rocky)
3. Lord (ft. Bone Thugs-N-Harmony)
4. Hood Pope
5. Fergivicious
6. 4:02
7. Dump Dump
8. Work (Remix) (ft. A$AP Rocky, French Montana, Trinidad Jame$ & ScHoolboy Q)
9. Didn’t Wanna Do That
10. Murda Something (ft. Waka Flocka Flame)
11. Make A Scene
12. Fuck Out My Face (ft. D-Real, Onyx & Aston Matthews)
13. Cocaine Castle

Big Sean: Hall of Fame
Release Date: 27 August

Big-Sean-Hall-Of-Fame[perfect_quotes id=”5517″]

Big Sean has made his intentions clear that his upcoming album will represent who he is as an artist and give the world a clearer picture of who he is. Despite featuring a massive line-up of heavyweights including the likes Nicki Minaj, Nas, Kid Cudi, and even Ellie Goulding, the rapper continues to say that the features weren’t to “stunt” but came together organically, and were selected for the good of each song and the album as a whole. To date, no confirmed tracklist has been revealed. Things are looking bright for the G.O.O.D Music emcee at the moment, but we’ll wait till August 27th to see if the rapper survives the dreaded sophomore slump.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

We’ll pull up to your inbox weekly with the hottest news, style guides, drops and leaks

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *