Straat Picks: Album Releases in April 2014

Straat Picks: Album Releases in April 2014

One of this month’s album releases will be out on the old-school cassette in addition to the usual formats. Read on to find out which artist it is.

By Chris Ong

Paolo Nutini: Caustic Love
Scheduled release: 14 April


Scroll to continue with content

[perfect_quotes id=”16407″]

Good things come to those who wait. It’s been five long years since Scottish singer-songwriter Paolo Nutini released a full-length album, and this year, he returns with his third album, Caustic Love. If these performances of Iron Sky and Better Man are anything to go by, Caustic Love will be setting ears on fire. His latest single Scream (Funk My Life Up) has got more groove than the underside of a pair of work boots; more groove, anyway, than one would expect from a 27-year-old. Great Scot, Paolo will be going places.

1. Scream (Funk My Life Up)
2. Let Me Down Easy
3. Bus Talk (Interlude)
4. One Day
5. Numpty
6. Superfly (Interlude)
7. Better Man
8. Iron Sky
9. Diana
10. Fashion (feat. Janelle Monáe)
11. Looking For Something
12. Cherry Blossom
13. Someone Like You

Nas: Illmatic XX
Scheduled release: 15 April


[perfect_quotes id=”16419″]

Nas marks his twentieth anniversary in the music industry with Illmatic XX, a two-disc special that contains completely remastered tracks, remixes, unreleased demos and freestyles. It’s only fitting then, that the album title pays homage to his debut album while adding the roman numerals XX to signify his two decades as a rapper. Definitely one for the collectors.

Disc 1 (Remastered original album)
1. The Genesis
2. N.Y. State of Mind
3. Life’s a Bitch
4. The World Is Yours
5. Halftime
6. Memory Lane (Sittin’ In Da Park)
7. One Love
8. One Time 4 Your Mind9. Represent
10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell

Disc 2 (Demos, Remixes & Live Radio)
1. I’m a Villain
2. The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993
3. Halftime (Butcher Remix)
4. It Ain’t Hard to Tell (Remix)
5. One Love (LG Main Mix)
6. Life’s a Bitch (feat. AZ) (Arsenal Mix)
7. One Love (feat. Sadat X) (One L Main Mix)
8. The World Is Yours (Tip Mix)
9. It Ain’t Hard to Tell (The Stink Mix)
10. It Ain’t Hard to Tell (The Laidback Remix)

Iggy Azalea: The New Classic
Scheduled release: 18 April


[perfect_quotes id=”16435″]

Having been plagued with several delays and recording label issues, we’re glad to hear that Iggy Azalea’s debut album, announced back in December 2011, is finally hitting the shelves later this month. The rapper first hit the scene with her mixtape Ignorant Art, having left school and Australia to pursue her passion for rap in the United States. Word is that Iggy reached out to her Murder Bizness co-rapper T.I. for direction on her debut album. Hopefully she kills it.

1. Walk the Line
2. Don’t Need Y’all
3. 100 (feat. Watch The Duck)
4. Change Your Life (feat. T.I.)
5. Fancy (feat. Charli XCX)
6. New Bitch
7. Work
8. Impossible is Nothing
9. Goddess
10. Black Widow (feat. Rita Ora)
11. Lady Patra (feat. Mavado)
12. Fuck Love
13. Bounce
14. Rolex
15. Just Askin’

Green Day: Demolicious
Scheduled release: 19 April


[perfect_quotes id=”16438″]

Following the success of their recent album trilogy ¡Uno!, ¡Dos! and ¡Tré!, longtime punk rockers Green Day have taken it a step further by releasing a collection of demos based on songs from those albums, with the bonus of a previously unreleased track. Demolicious will be out on Record Store Day, a day that pays homage to the record stores that were a hit before the advent of digital formats, and will be available in colored vinyl, CD and get this – the cassette. Time to find an old cassette player that works, and find it fast!

1. 99 Revolutions
2. Angel Blue
3. Carpe Diem
4. State of Shock
5. Let Yourself Go
6. Sex, Drugs & Violence
7. Ashley
8. Fell For You
9. Stay The Night
10. Nuclear Family
11. Stray Heart
12. Rusty James
13. A Little Boy Named Train
14. Baby Eyes
15. Makeout Party
16. Oh Love
17. Missing You
18. Stay The Night (Acoustic)

Riff Raff: Neon Icon
Scheduled release: 29 April


[perfect_quotes id=”16441″]

Riff Raff is holding nothing back for his second album, which is also his first under a major recording company. The heavily tattooed rapper professes that he’s gone “from nothing to becoming this shining star”, and puts together an album filled with collaborations with the likes of Wiz Khalifa, Big Sean, Snoop Dogg and Skylar Grey. There’s no confirmed tracklist yet, but we’ll leave you with the first single from Neon Icon. Enjoy.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

We’ll pull up to your inbox weekly with the hottest news, style guides, drops and leaks

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *