Straat Picks: Album Releases in January 2015

2015 may have just began, but it’s a clamor to the top of the hip hop charts for three artists, two of whom are debuting their studio album release.

Rae Sremmurd: SremmLife

Scheduled release: 6 January

Straat Picks: Album Releases in January 2015

[perfect_quotes id=”25775″]

Scroll to continue with content

Brothers “Swae Lee” Khalif Brown and “Slim Jimmy” Aaquil Brown, collectively known as Rae Sremmurd (a backwards spelling of Ear Drummers, their home label), are no doubt the new kids on the hip hop block. But keep a ear out for them, ‘cos this first studio album release could be their big break. Already making it to the Billboard charts, the icing on the cake is that their single “No Flex Zone” has been remixed by Nicki Minaj and Pusha T.

1. Lit Like Bic
2. Unlock the Swag (feat.
3. No Flex Zone
4. My X
5. This Could Be Us
6. Come Get Her
7. Up Like Trump
8. Throw Sum Mo (feat.
9. Yno (feat. Big Sean)
10. No Type
11. Safe Sex Pay Checks


Mark Ronson: Uptown Special

Scheduled release: 13 January

Straat Picks: Album Releases in January 2015

[perfect_quotes id=”25719″]

Mark Ronson (brother to Samantha and Charlotte Ronson) has been an active music producer for years, working with artists like Adele, Duran Duran and Lil Wayne. His upcoming studio album looks set to be the best yet, with the catchy single “Uptown Funk” topping the charts. Bruno Mars features in the track and also doubles up as drummer for the rest of the album. How cool is that?

1. Uptown’s First Finale (feat. Stevie Wonder & Andrew Wyatt)
2. Summer Breaking (feat. Kevin Parker)
3. Feel Right (feat. Mystikal)
4. Uptown Funk (feat. Bruno Mars)
5. I Can’t Lose (feat. Keyone Starr)
6. Daffodils (feat. Kevin Parker)
7. Crack In the Pearl (feat. Andrew Wyatt)
8. In Case of Fire (feat. Kevin Parker)
9. Leaving Los Feliz (feat. Jeff Bhasker)
10. Heavy & Rolling (feat. Andrew Wyatt)
11. Crack In The Pearl II (feat. Stevie Wonder & Jeff Bhasker)


Fall Out Boy: American Beauty/American Psycho

Scheduled release: 19 January

Straat Picks: Album Releases in January 2015

[perfect_quotes id=”25566″]

Heavy metal band Mötley Crüe garnered success through playing by their own rules, and it’s this strong sense of band identity, along with some track sampling, which rock band Fall Out Boy emulates for its sixth and latest studio album release. We especially love “The Kids Aren’t Alright”, and though the track title may sound a tad familiar, it’s in no way related to The Offspring’s rendition from 1998.

1. Irresistible
2. American Beauty/American Psycho
3. Centuries
4. The Kids Aren’t Alright
5. Uma Thurman
6. Jet Pack Blues
7. Novocaine
8. Fourth Of July
9. Favorite Record
10. Immortals
11. Twin Skeletons (Hotel In NYC)


Joey Bada$$: B4.DA.$$

Scheduled release: 20 January

Straat Picks: Album Releases in January 2015

[perfect_quotes id=”25681″]

Young hip hop artist Joey Bada$$ clearly has his eyes set on raking in big bucks, and having achieved so much for a 19-year-old, it’s hard not to see why. The New Yorker has his own hip-hop collective, Pro Era, and has already put out three mixtapes to favorable reviews. He’ll be looking to reach greater heights with this debut studio album, set to be released on his birthday. Great thinking, kid.

1. Save the Children
2. Greenbax (Introlude)
3. Paper Trail$
4. Piece of Mind
5. Big Dusty
6. Hazeus View
7. Like Me (feat. BJ the Chicago Kid)
8. Belly of the Beast (feat. Chronixx)
9. No. 99
10. Christ Conscious
11. On & On (feat. Maverick Sabre & Dyemond Lewis)
12. Escape 120 (feat. Raury)
13. Black Beetles
14. O.C.B.
15. Curry Chicken
16. Run Up On Ya (feat. Action Bronson & Elle Varner)
17. Teach Me (feat. Kiesza)


Lupe Fiasco: Tetsuo & Youth

Scheduled release: 20 January

Straat Picks: Album Releases in January 2015

[perfect_quotes id=”25854″]

Lupe Fiasco may be leaving his label, Atlantic Records, but he’s intent on pushing out one last album before his departure. Other labels will definitely be keen to sign him on, because what sets him apart from many fellow hip hop artists is his aversion to vulgarity, misogyny and now, politics. For this album, Lupe’s blend of hip hop deviates from his usual style, and longtime fans may be skeptical with what they’ve heard so far. Perhaps going to a new label will give him the creative freedom he needs.

1. Summer
2. Mural
3. Blur My Hands (feat. Guy Sebastian)
4. Dots & Lines
5. Fall
6. Prisoner 1 & 2 (feat. Ayesha Jaco)
7. Body of Work (feat. Troi & Terrace Martin)
8. Little Death (feat. Nikki Jean)
9. No Scratches (feat. Nikki Jean)
10. Winter
11. Chopper (feat. Billy Blue, Buk of Psychodrama, Trouble, Trae tha Truth, Fam-Lay & Glasses Malone)
12. Deliver
13. Madonna (feat. Nikki Jean)
14. Adoration of the Magi (feat. Crystal Torres
15. They.Resurrect.Over.New (feat. Ab-Soul & Troi)
16. Spring

Subscribe to our Newsletter

We’ll pull up to your inbox weekly with the hottest news, style guides, drops and leaks

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *