Straat Picks: Album Releases in October 2013

Straat Picks: Album Releases in October 2013

As we embrace the final quarter of 2013, here are some album releases for October that includes the infamous and controversial Miley Cyrus. Will her music stand up to the critics, or will it tarnish what’s left of her reputation? Read on to find out more.

By Daniel Loy

Miley Cyrus: Bangerz
Scheduled Release: 8 October


[perfect_quotes id=”7974″]

Scroll to continue with content

From teenage pop to twerking flop, Miley Cyrus has certainly made the headlines this year. Her raunchy performance with Robin Thicke at the VMAs has created an outcry from fans that were used to seeing her as a squeaky clean Disney star. But things can turn around for the good-girl-turned-bad, with her fourth studio album expected to ride on her current fame and her lead single We Can’t Stop receiving favorable reviews so far.

  1. Adore You
  2. We Can’t Stop
  3. SMS (Bangerz)
  4. 4×4
  5. My Darlin
  6. Wrecking Ball
  7. Love Money Party
  9. Drive
  10. FU
  11. Do My Thang
  12.  Maybe You’re Right
  13. Someone Else
  14. Rooting For My Baby
  15. On My Own
  16. Hands In The Air


Pusha T: My Name Is My Name
Scheduled Release: 8 October


[perfect_quotes id=”7975″]

Pusha T, better known as one half of the hip hop duo Clipse, debuts his solo album with My Name Is My Name. Most of the tracks are laden with collaborations with artists such as Chris Brown, Pharrell and Kelly Rowland. Pusha T looks set to push the envelope, no pun intended, with a follow-up album coincidentally titled King Push.

  1. King Push
  2. Numbers On the Boards
  3. Sweet Serenade
  4. Hold On
  5. Suicide
  6. 40 Acres
  7. No Regrets
  8. Let Me Love You
  9. Who I Am
  10. Nosetalgia
  11. Pain
  12. S.N.I.T.C.H.


Scheduled Release: 15 October


[perfect_quotes id=”7976″]

For the record, the image above is not the official album cover. A$AP Mob, a 12-member hip hop collective from Harlem, has not released any official cover art or track listing from their debut studio album even though the release date is just two weeks away. Although highly anticipated, there are rumors that the album will be pushed back to a later date. We shall see.


The Arcade Fire: Reflektor

Scheduled Release: 29 October


[perfect_quotes id=”7977″]

Canadian indie rock band Arcade Fire, popularized by their debut album Funeral, is back with their fourth studio album offering. Husband and wife Win Butler and Régine Chassagne, along with other members of the band, have spent three years working on it. Reflektor spans two discs, and with most of the tracks crossing the five-minute mark, it is a reflection of the artistic freedom this band has successfully attained.

Disc One
1. Reflektor
2. We Exist
3. Flashbulb Eyes
4. Here Comes The Night Time
5. Normal Person
6. You Already Know
7. Joan of Arc

Disc Two
1. Here Comes The Night Time I
2. Awful Sound (Oh Eurydice)
3. It’s Never Over (Oh Orpheus)
4. Porno
5. Afterlife
6. Supersymmetry


Yuna: Nocturnal
Scheduled Release: 29 October


[perfect_quotes id=”7978″] 

Malaysian singer-songwriter Yuna makes her impressive Verve Records debut with the album Nocturnal. Highly regarded and often compared other sensational singers like Adele and Norah Jones, Yuna is within grasp of mainstream success as she penetrates the American market. Her lead single Falling is a unique blend of pop and soulful R&B and her engaging voice trumps most, if not all run-of-the-mill songs out there.

  1. Falling
  2. Mountains
  3. Rescue
  4. Lights and Camera
  5. Lovely Intermission
  6. Someone Who Can
  7. I Want You Back
  8. Comeback
  9. Colors
  10. I Wanna Go
  11. Escape

Subscribe to our Newsletter

We’ll pull up to your inbox weekly with the hottest news, style guides, drops and leaks

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *