Straat Picks: Album Releases in October 2014

Straat Picks: Album Releases in October 2014

Rappers make up most of this month’s album picks. Find out who’s making his debut, who’s retiring, whose album is laden with contributing artists and who has an alter ego.

By Louis Chen

Flying Lotus: You’re Dead!

Scheduled release: 7 October


Scroll to continue with content

[perfect_quotes id=”22675″]

Flying Lotus, better known as FlyLo, will be scaling new heights with his latest album release. The experimental musician eschews mellow sounds for fast electronic beats this time round, with just the right amount of rap thrown in. For the record, Captain Murphy, who features in two tracks, is FlyLo’s alter ego. How those tracks will sound like is anybody’s guess, but expect some surprises up FlyLo/Captain Murphy’s sleeve.

1. Theme
2. Tesla
3. Cold Dead
4. Fkn Dead
5. Never Catch Me (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
6. Dead Man’s Tetris (feat. Captain Murphy and Snoop Dogg)
7. Turkey Dog Coma
8. Stirring
9. Coronus, The Terminator
10. Siren Song (feat. Angel Deradoorian)
11. Turtles
12. Ready err Not
13. Eyes Above
14. Moment of Hesitation
15. Descent Into Madness (feat. Thundercat)
16. The Boys Who Died in Their Sleep (feat. Captain Murphy)
17. Obligatory Cadence
18. Your Potential//The Beyond (feat. Niki Randa)
19. The Protest

OK Go: Hungry Ghosts

Scheduled release: 14 October


[perfect_quotes id=”22701″]

Their hits may be reminiscent of British electronic pop, but OK Go are actually an American band that started off in Chicago. Whether it’s a clever way to reach a wider audience, or a coincidence that they make music like the English do, their songs are the perfect afternoon perk-me-up. If that isn’t enough, watch their quirky and painstakingly produced music videos, such as the one embedded below – it’s visual mayhem at its best.

1. Upside Down & Inside Out
2. The Writing’s on the Wall
3. Another Set of Issues
4. Turn up the Radio
5. Obsession
6. I’m Not Through
7. Bright as Your Eyes
8. I Won’t Let You Down
9. The One Moment
10. If I Had a Mountain
11. The Great Fire
12. Lullaby

T.I.: Paperwork

Scheduled release: 20 October


[perfect_quotes id=”22688″]

T.I.’s ninth studio effort is chock full of collabs with other artists, save for two tracks found only in the Deluxe edition. Word is the rapper recorded 250 tracks with Pharrell, narrowed it down to the best 25 and will be spreading them over a couple of albums. Singles like “New National Anthem” make for pretty good listening thanks to Skylar Grey’s vocals, but it unfortunately highlights T.I’s limitations without the contributions of fellow artistes.

1. King
2. G’ S**t (feat. Young Jeezy & Watch The Duck)
3. About the Money (feat. Young Thug)
4. New National Anthem (feat. Skylar Grey)
5. Oh Yeah (feat. Pharrell)
6. Private Show (feat. Chris Brown)
7. No Mediocre (feat. Iggy Azalea)
8. Jet Fuel (feat. Boosie Badazz)
9. Paperwork (feat. Pharrell)
10. Stay (feat. Victoria Monet)
11. About My Issue (feat. Victoria Monet & Nipsey Hussle)
12. At Ya’ Own Risk (feat. Usher)
13. On Doe, On Phil (feat. Trae tha Truth)
14. Light Em Up (RIP Doe B) (feat. Pharrell & Watch The Duck)
15. Let Your Heart Go (Break My Soul) (feat. The-Dream)
16. Sugar Cane [Deluxe]
17. I Don’t Know [Deluxe]
18. You Can Tell How I Walk (feat. Rick Ross) [Deluxe]

Stalley: Ohio

Scheduled release: 27 October


[perfect_quotes id=”22689″]

After a whole bunch of mixtapes, collabs and an extended play, Stalley is stepping into the big league with his debut studio album. It’ll be some time before he makes a name in the world of rap, but under the tutelage of Maybach Music Group’s head honcho Rick Ross, who also lends his voice in one of the tracks, Stalley’s first standalone album should do just fine.

1. Welcome to O.H.I.O.
2. Jackin’ Chevys
3. Problems
4. Broomin’
5. What It Be Like (feat. Nipsey Hussie)
6. One More Shot (feat. Rick Ross & August Alsina)
7. Always Into Something (feat. Ty Dolla Sign)
8. System On Loud
9. 3:30pm
10. Chevelle (feat. Rashad)
11. Free
12. Navajo Rugs (feat. De La Soul)

Lil Wayne: Tha Carter V

Scheduled release: 28 October


[perfect_quotes id=”22704″]

Rapper Lil Wayne has been keeping mum about the details of his much-delayed final solo album, instead heaping praises on fellow Young Money artistes Drake and Nicki Minaj. We figure he’s got something special in store for the fans before he bows out. Only four tracks have been confirmed, but if the musician is indeed leaving the building in pursuit of other interests, he better be going out with a bang.

1. Believe me (feat. Drake)
2. D’usse
3. Grindin (feat. Drake)
4. Krazy

Subscribe to our Newsletter

We’ll pull up to your inbox weekly with the hottest news, style guides, drops and leaks

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *