Straat Picks: Album Releases in September 2014

Straat Picks: Album Releases in September 2014

Change is the only constant, and this applies to musicians too. See which bands stay ahead of the game and which falter in old, familiar ground.

By Louis Chen

BANKS: Goddess

Now in stores


Scroll to continue with content

[perfect_quotes id=”22227″]

Newcomer Jillian Rose Banks, or just BANKS for short, was listed as an artist to watch earlier this year. All things considered, we think she’s done a fairly reasonable job for her debut album release. Where she lacks in impressive vocals, she makes up for with clever electronic beats. Perhaps needing some time to warm up to the industry, you can bank on this young lady (no pun intended) to turn heads with her future albums.

1. Alibi
2. Goddess
3. Waiting Game
4. Brain
5. This Is What It Feels Like
6. You Should Know Where I’m Coming From
7. Stick
8. F*** Em Only We Know
9. Drowning
10. Beggin for Thread
11. Change
12. Someone New
13. Warm Water
14. Under the Table
15. And I Drove You Crazy [Deluxe Edition]
16. Fall Over [Deluxe Edition]
17. Before I Ever Met You [Deluxe Edition]
18. Bedroom Wall [Deluxe Edition]

Jhené Aiko: Souled Out

Now in stores


[perfect_quotes id=”22226″]

If you’re looking for slow-paced songs that won’t put you to sleep, give Jhené Aiko’s latest album a spin. Her songs blend together buttery-smooth lyrics with a well-paced, steady rhythm that keep listeners hooked. We got all emotional and could identify with the poignancy of the track Promises, which features vocals from the singer’s daughter Namiko and late brother Miyagi.

1. Limbo Limbo Limbo
2. W.A.Y.S.
3. To Love & Die (feat. Cocaine 80s)
4. Spotless Mind
5. It’s Cool
6. Lyin King
7. Wading
8. The Pressure
9. Brave
10. Eternal Sunshine
11. Promises (feat. Miyagi and Namiko)
12. Pretty Bird (Freestyle) (feat. Common)
13. Remember [Deluxe Edition]
14. Blue Dream [Deluxe Edition]

The Kooks: Listen

Now in stores


[perfect_quotes id=”22221″]

British rock band The Kooks has a new drummer in Alexis Nunez and new producers in Luke Pritchard, Inflo and Fraser T Smith, so it’s apt that their latest album is a departure from their usual indie rock. Tracks like Forgive & Forget and Down contain plenty of funk and are a welcome change, though the shift may take some getting used to for longtime fans.

1. Around Town
2. Forgive & Forget
3. Westside
4. See Me Now
5. It Was London
6. Bad Habit
7. Down
8. Dreams
9. Are We Electric
10. Sunrise
11. Sweet Emotion
12. Murderer [Deluxe Edition]
13. Icons [Deluxe Edition]
14. Keep Your Head Up [Deluxe Edition]
15. Backstabber [Deluxe Edition]
16. Down [Deluxe Edition]

Interpol: El Pintor

Now in stores


[perfect_quotes id=”22219″]

Interpol barely gets by with this album, dishing out middling tracks, perhaps under the guise of going back to the fundamentals. This, despite a four-year break that saw founding bassist Carlos Dengler leaving. Now a three-man band, it does seem like Interpol have to recruit or regroup to top the praises they received for their previous efforts.

1. All the Rage Back Home
2. My Desire
3. Anywhere
4. Same Town, New Story
5. My Blue Supreme
6. Everything Is Wrong
7. Breaker 1
8. Ancient Ways
9. Tidal Wave
10. Twice As Hard

Julian Casablancas + The Voidz: Tyranny

Scheduled release: 23 September


[perfect_quotes id=”22223″]

With such a hipster-sounding band name, one can safely assume that conventionalism isn’t on the cards for this band’s debut album. And rightfully so, considering that frontman Julian Casablancas is of The Strokes fame. The lead single Human Sadness is 11 minutes of experimental brilliance, with some disjointed elements peppered throughout the song but a nonetheless a track that’s worth its long running time.

1. Take Me in Your Army
2. Crunch Punch
3. M.utually A.ssured D.estruction
4. Human Sadness
5. Where No Eagles Fly
6. Father Electricity
7. Johan Von Bronx
8. Business Dog
9. Xerox
10. Dare I Care
11. Nintendo Blood
12. Off to War…

Subscribe to our Newsletter

We’ll pull up to your inbox weekly with the hottest news, style guides, drops and leaks

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *