WhatsApp Delete function makes drunk texts and messages sent to the wrong chat group a thing of the past.
Feature image: WhatsApp
WhatsApp Delete lets users un-send messages, but they’ll only have seven minutes to delete them. The new feature applies to both private conversations and group chats.
However, not all traces of the deleted message will be erased. The deleted message gets replaced with a notice that reads, “This message was deleted”.
The feature, which will be rolled out to iPhone, Android, and Windows phone users over the next few weeks, will only work if both sender and recipient are using the latest version of the app.
WhatsApp also cautions that the “recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion was not successful”. Therefore, WhatsApp Delete is not a guaranteed solution to any boo-boo messages sent.
To find out more about this new feature, head over to the WhatsApp blog.